Pulse NewsLink

Lakeland Honors Team Members at Service Awards Banquet
Oct 27, 2017 Share

This year, more than 660 team members from across the organization were recognized as the “Heart and Soul” of Lakeland  at the annual Service Awards Banquet on  Thursday, October 5. The evening was filled with live music, catered dining, red carpet interviews with honorees, and even some disco dance moves.

Attendees were honored in five-year increments for their service, from five years to 45. The evening began with a special “Year in Review” video tribute to all that Lakeland has accomplished over  the past year, including recognition as a Truven Top 15 health system. Each of the honorees also took a trip back in time as they watched videos featuring headlines, music, and entertainment from the year they began working at Lakeland.

Dan Hopp, Chairman of the Board, addressed honorees at the event stating, “As chairman of the board and a member of this community, I’m proud of your shared vision to positively transform health care and health choices for all those we serve. This truly has made Lakeland a special place for all the people we serve.”

Loren B. Hamel, MD, President & CEO shared, “My greatest source of pride is hearing the heartfelt stories that are shared with me by patients, residents, and fellow team members every day. When we made the commitment to listen with our hearts, we embarked on an educational journey to learn more about what it means to listen intentionally, attentively, respectfully, and compassionately. Your efforts to bring your professionalism, talents, and heart to work every day are why we are recognized as a Top 15 health system in the nation.”

Twenty honorees were recognized for 40 years of service, dedicating a combined total of 800 years of service to Lakeland: Gloria Barenie, Critical Care Unit; Maureen Bishop, Lakeland University; Bessie Buford, Admitting and ER Registration; Betty Cowan, Connect IT; Lester Davis, OR, Niles; Lynette Glowacki, Health Information Management; Valerie Hand, Nursing Support Services; Frederick Johansen, Southwestern Medical Clinic; Darla Kissinger, Radiation Therapy; Margaret Krieger, Laboratory; Judy Kubsch, Administration; Sandra McCune, Health Information Management, Niles; Donita Metzger, Connect IT; Sheryl Popke, Health Information Management; Subhaschandra Ravi; Jane Rush, Connect IT; Subramaniam Shastri, Community Connect Practice; Stanley Slavin, Behavioral Health; Deborah Vliet, Southwestern Medical Clinic; Bruce Zoschke, Behavioral Health.

Debra Whitt, Laboratory, was this year’s top honoree recognized for 45 years of service at Lakeland.
Service Awards Banquet

She stated, “It’s hard to choose my fondest memory from the last 45 years, but one of the fondest has been the people I work with and how supportive they have been at the different times I’ve needed it.”

To view photos and a list of all honorees, click here.

Your generosity can make a difference.